For team members to collaborate in the deployment of software, there needs to be trust and accountability. Octopus Deploy captures audit information whenever significant events happen in the system.
What Does Octopus Capture?
Below is a short list of just some of the things that Octopus captures:
- Changes to deployment processes and variables.
- Create/modify/delete events for projects, environments, deployment targets, releases, and so on.
- Environment changes, such as adding new deployment targets or modifying the environment a deployment target belongs to.
- Queuing and canceling of deployments and other tasks.
Some general points worth noting:
- Octopus does capture the details of every mutating action (create/edit/delete) including who initiated the action.
- Octopus does not capture login and logout events for specific user accounts.
- Octopus does not capture when data is read, however certain sensitive actions like downloading a certificate with its private key is captured.
If you are concerned that Octopus does not capture a specific action of interest to you, please contact our support team.
Viewing the Audit History
You can view the full audit history by navigating to the Audit tab in the Configuration area.
Some audit events will also include details, which you can see by clicking the show details link. For example:
This feature makes it extremely easy to see who made what changes on the Octopus Deploy Server.
We take great care to ensure the security and integrity of your audit logs, to make sure they are a trustworthy indelible record of every important activity in your Octopus installation. If you have any concerns please reach out to us.
Viewing Audit Logs
To grant a user access to audit logs you can make use of a built-in User Role that contains EventView. All project related user roles contain it. EventView can also be scoped to narrow down which audit information a user can see, for example, it can be restricted to specific Projects or Environments. Learn more about managing users and teams.
In Octopus 2019.1 we removed AuditView in an effort to simplify permissions so only EventView is now required.
Modifying and Deleting Audit Logs is Prevented
Octopus actively prevents modifying or deleting audit logs via its API. That being said, a user with the appropriate permissions to the
Events table in your Octopus SQL Database could modify or delete records in that table. If you are concerned about this kind of tampering you should configure the permissions to the
Events table in your Octopus SQL Database appropriately.
Sensitive Values in Audit Logs
If you make a change to a sensitive value in Octopus, you will notice we write an audit log showing the fact the sensitive value changed. The value we show in the audit log is simply an indicator the value has changed. This is not the unencrypted/raw value. This is not even the encrypted value.
We take the sensitive value and hash it using an irreversible hash algorithm. We then encrypt that hash with a new, unique, non-deterministic salt. We use this irreversible value as an indicator that the sensitive value actually changed in some way.