Deleting releases

Last updated

Octo.exe can be used to delete releases from your Octopus instance. Releases deleted this way cannot be recovered.

Using Channels?
If you are using channels (introduced in Octopus 3.2) you can filter this command so it only deletes releases for a particular channel.

octo delete-releases [<options>]

Where [<options>] is any of:

delete-releases options

Deletion: 

      --project=VALUE        Name of the project
      --minversion=VALUE     Minimum (inclusive) version number for the range 
                             of versions to delete
      --maxversion=VALUE     Maximum (inclusive) version number for the range 
                             of versions to delete
      --channel=VALUE        [Optional] if specified, only releases 
                             associated with the channel will be deleted; 
                             specify this argument multiple times to target 
                             multiple channels.
      --whatif               [Optional, Flag] if specified, releases won't 
                             actually be deleted, but will be listed as if 
                             simulating the command

Common options: 

      --help                 [Optional] Print help for a command
      --helpOutputFormat=VALUE
                             [Optional] Output format for help, only valid 
                             option is json
      --outputFormat=VALUE   [Optional] Output format, only valid option is 
                             json
      --server=VALUE         The base URL for your Octopus server - e.g., 
                             http://your-octopus/
      --apiKey=VALUE         [Optional] Your API key. Get this from the user 
                             profile page. Your must provide an apiKey or 
                             username and password. If the guest account is 
                             enabled, a key of API-GUEST can be used.
      --user=VALUE           [Optional] Username to use when authenticating 
                             with the server. Your must provide an apiKey or 
                             username and password.
      --pass=VALUE           [Optional] Password to use when authenticating 
                             with the server.
      --configFile=VALUE     [Optional] Text file of default values, with one 
                             'key = value' per line.
      --debug                [Optional] Enable debug logging
      --ignoreSslErrors      [Optional] Set this flag if your Octopus server 
                             uses HTTPS but the certificate is not trusted on 
                             this machine. Any certificate errors will be 
                             ignored. WARNING: this option may create a 
                             security vulnerability.
      --enableServiceMessages
                             [Optional] Enable TeamCity or Team Foundation 
                             Build service messages when logging.
      --timeout=VALUE        [Optional] Timeout in seconds for network 
                             operations. Default is 600.
      --proxy=VALUE          [Optional] The URI of the proxy to use, eg 
                             http://example.com:8080.
      --proxyUser=VALUE      [Optional] The username for the proxy.
      --proxyPass=VALUE      [Optional] The password for the proxy. If both 
                             the username and password are omitted and 
                             proxyAddress is specified, the default 
                             credentials are used. 
      --logLevel=VALUE       [Optional] The log level. Valid options are 
                             verbose, debug, information, warning, error and 
                             fatal. Defaults to 'debug'.

Basic example

The following command will delete all the releases from the project Web between versions 0.0.8 to 0.0.12.

octo delete-releases --project Web --minversion="0.0.8" --maxversion="0.0.12" --server http://MyOctopusServerURL.com --apikey MyAPIKey

On the example above, both minversion and maxversion will be delete as well. The complete list of releases deleted by that command will be:

0.0.8, 0.0.9, 0.0.10, 0.0.11, 0.0.12.

Tip
Learn more about Octo.exe, and creating API keys.