Octopus Deploy Documentation


Last updated

With Octopus Deploy the machines and services you deploy your software to are managed on the Infrastructure tab of the Octopus Web Portal.

Deployment Targets

With Octopus Deploy, you can deploy software to Windows servers, Linux servers, Microsoft Azure, AWS, Kubernetes Clusters, Cloud Regions, or an Offline Package Drop. Regardless of where you're deploying your software, these machines and services are known as your deployment targets.


Before you can add your deployment targets to Octopus, you need to configure your environments. Environments represent the different stages of your deployment pipeline and ensure that the software that's deployed is the same as it moves through those stages from, for instance, Development, into Test, and finally to Production.

Typical environments include:

  • Development
  • Test
  • Production

You can add as many or as few environments as you require in your deployment pipeline, and you can add as many deployment targets to each environment as you need.


Workers are machines that are used to execute tasks that don't need to be performed on the Octopus server or specific deployment targets, for instance, if you are deploying a package to an API or running a script. You can register multiple workers and assign them to worker pools.

Next Steps

Welcome! We use cookies and data about how you use our website allow us to improve the website and your experience, and resolve technical errors. Our website uses cookies and shares some of your data with third party analytics companies for these purposes. We do not use these cookies for advertising.

If you decline, we will respect your privacy. A single cookie will be used in your browser to remember your preference.